Mark Wallace profile
by Glamorgan Cricket Archive

Player:MA Wallace

DateLine: 29th March 2013


2015 profile
Mark Wallace is the most successful wicket-keeper batsman in Glamorgan’s history, and in 2011 he became the first gloveman for the Welsh county to amass over 1,000 first-class runs in a season, breaking the club record of 959 which had been set in 1923 by Jimmy Stone.


Born in Abergavenny, and raised in Crickhowell, ‘Wally’ made his Glamorgan debut in 1999 against Somerset at Taunton, and at 17 years and 287 days old he duly became the Club’s youngest wicket-keeper in a County Championship match. In the course of the next few years, he also represented England Under 19s, before becoming Glamorgan’s regular wicket-keeper in four-day cricket from 2001.


In June 2003 ‘Wally’ won his county cap aged just 21, with his neat and effective glovework, plus his combative batting being important ingredients in Glamorgan’s success in winning the National League title in 2004. The following year, he also set a new club record by not conceding any byes in Kent’s mammoth total of 587 at Canterbury.


In 2009 Mark scored a career-best 139 and shared in a Club record stand of 240 against Surrey at the Oval, whilst his second innings hundred against Gloucestershire at Cheltenham in 2010 laid the foundation for a Glamorgan victory.


In 2012, during Glamorgan's LVCC match at Canterbury, Mark passed Eifion Jones' Club record for the highest aggregate of runs by a specialist wicket-keeper, whilst later in the season, he posted his maiden one-day hundred for the side against Durham at Chester-le-Street.


2014 saw Mark become the most successful wicket-keeper in first-class cricket, whilst in the opening Championship match of the season, he appeared in his 200th consecutive Championship match for the Club. The 2015 season sees Mark poised to pass the landmark of 10,000 runs in first-class cricket.



(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2015 Glamorgan Cricket Archive)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive