Durham v Kent
LV County Championship 2007 (Division 1)
VenueRiverside Ground, Chester-le-Street on 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th May 2007 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDurham won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDurham won by 157 runs
PointsDurham 22 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Kent 8 (Batting 5, Bowling 3)
UmpiresNL Bainton, NA Mallender
ScorersJC Foley (Kent), B Hunt (Durham)
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 23/0 (Denly 15*, Key 7*; 6.5 overs)
Close of play day 2Kent (1) 361/6 (Hall 37*, Yasir Arafat 17*; 101 overs)
Close of play day 3Durham (2) 304/5 (Benkenstein 66*, Park 57*; 70 overs)

Durham first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Di Venutonot out204248346231 
WR Smithlbw b Yasir Arafat1321292- 
PD Collingwoodb Yasir Arafat031-- 
KJ Coetzerb Tredwell7413316313- 
*DM Benkensteinc McLaren b Tredwell256-- 
+P Mustardb McLaren23253331 
GT Parklbw b McLaren066-- 
GR Breeseb McLaren5631- 
LE Plunkettc Jones b Tredwell3552465- 
G Onionsc and b Tredwell41061- 
SJ Harmisonc Jones b McLaren52131-- 
Extras(9 b, 9 lb, 18 nb, 6 w)42
Total(all out, 86.5 overs)407
Fall of wickets:
1-46 (Smith), 2-46 (Collingwood), 3-227 (Coetzer), 4-243 (Benkenstein), 5-286 (Mustard), 6-290 (Park), 7-296 (Breese), 8-359 (Plunkett), 9-367 (Onions), 10-407 (Harmison, 86.5 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Yasir Arafat17   2852-3
Joseph8   0620-3
Hall10   0480--
Tredwell27   2884--
Stevens5   1150--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Denlyc Mustard b Harmison1735532- 
*RWT Keylbw b Onions16927938425- 
M van Jaarsveldlbw b Plunkett1023341- 
MJ Walkerc Mustard b Plunkett7215119211- 
DI Stevensb Plunkett1031632- 
+GO Jonesb Harmison142-- 
AJ Hallc Harmison b Plunkett42691127- 
Yasir Arafatb Harmison1734533- 
R McLarenb Plunkett122-- 
JC Tredwellc Mustard b Harmison2541455- 
RH Josephnot out71420-1 
Extras(7 b, 17 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)29
Total(all out, 113.3 overs)400
Fall of wickets:
1-45 (Denly), 2-74 (van Jaarsveld), 3-247 (Walker), 4-282 (Stevens), 5-283 (Jones), 6-318 (Key), 7-362 (Yasir Arafat), 8-363 (McLaren), 9-385 (Hall), 10-400 (Tredwell, 113.3 ov)
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Onions23   1921-1
Plunkett32   51055-1
Collingwood14   3270--
Breese14   0550--
Benkenstein6   1220--

Durham second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WR Smithlbw b Hall2134503- 
MJ Di Venutolbw b Hall588010612- 
PD Collingwoodb Yasir Arafat58446281 
KJ Coetzerb Hall3814-- 
*DM Benkensteinnot out7713514991 
+P Mustardlbw b Yasir Arafat59221- 
GT Parkc Jones b Hall611311267- 
GR Breesenot out064-- 
LE Plunkettdid not bat      
G Onionsdid not bat      
SJ Harmisondid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 9 lb, 20 nb)36
Total(6 wickets, declared, 72.5 overs)319
Fall of wickets:
1-49 (Smith), 2-144 (Di Venuto), 3-148 (Collingwood), 4-150 (Coetzer), 5-173 (Mustard), 6-318 (Park)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Yasir Arafat19.53852-4
Hall17   3684-3
McLaren10   2330--
Joseph6   0510-3
Tredwell13   1470--
Stevens7   3190--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Denlyc Mustard b Harmison92137235141 
*RWT Keyc Plunkett b Harmison1133402- 
M van Jaarsveldc Mustard b Harmison022-- 
MJ Walkerc Plunkett b Harmison11153-- 
DI Stevensc Mustard b Plunkett3574964- 
+GO Joneslbw b Onions154-- 
AJ Hallc Collingwood b Plunkett354-- 
Yasir Arafatc Mustard b Plunkett61316-- 
R McLarennot out613191- 
JC Tredwellc Smith b Harmison031-- 
RH Josephretired hurt2912-- 
Extras(4 lb, 8 nb)12
Total(all out, 50.3 overs)169
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Key), 2-27 (van Jaarsveld), 3-55 (Walker), 4-131 (Stevens), 5-134 (Jones), 6-137 (Hall), 7-157 (Yasir Arafat), 8-161 (Denly), 9-161 (Tredwell)
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Plunkett20   7543--
Onions8   0381--
Collingwood3   1120-1

--> MJ Di Venuto (1) 100 in 116 balls, 177 minutes with 14 fours
--> MJ Di Venuto (1) 200 in 241 balls, 333 minutes with 23 fours and 1 six
--> MJ Di Venuto (1) passed 18000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 28
--> KJ Coetzer (1) passed his previous highest score of 67 in County Championship matches
--> RWT Key (1) 100 in 177 balls, 233 minutes with 15 fours
--> PD Collingwood (2) passed 8000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 41
--> JL Denly (2) passed his previous highest score of 86 in County Championship matches
--> Yasir Arafat reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed WR Smith, his 1st wicket in the Durham first innings
--> LE Plunkett reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed R McLaren, his 4th wicket in the Kent first innings
--> RH Joseph retired hurt in the Kent second innings having scored 2 (team score 169/9)

Source: Durham CCC scorebook with thanks to Brian Hunt
Bad light stopped play at 6.22pm on the first day
Bad light stopped play at 6.12pm on the second day
On the third day rain stopped play from 2.35 pm to 4.11 pm (tea taken)
On the fourth day rain stopped play from 11.11 am to 1.10 pm (lunch taken), from 2.01 pm to 2.35 pm and from 4.00 pm to 4.11 pm





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive