Worcestershire v Derbyshire
County Championship 1928
VenueChester Road North, Kidderminster on 8th, 9th, 10th August 1928 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDerbyshire won by 2 wickets
PointsWorcestershire 0; Derbyshire 8
UmpiresTW Oates, F Parris
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 114/1 (Storer 72*, Lee 1*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 185/9 (Summers 10*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JB Higginsb Townsend50     
L Wrightb Slater4     
BW Quaifec Worthington b Townsend7     
WV Foxc Worthington b Townsend6     
HHIH Gibbonsc Lee b Mitchell16     
CF Rootc Slater b Townsend10     
JJ Bowlesc Worthington b Townsend0     
CV Tarboxrun out47     
+FT Summersc Slater b Worthington36     
J Pricec Bowden b Townsend33     
HA Gilbertnot out31     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 w)4
Total(all out, 86.1 overs)244
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-34, 3-46, 4-65, 5-77, 6-77, 7-128, 8-147, 9-191, 10-244 (86.1 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Slater18   4441--
Townsend32   9846--
Mitchell10   1401--
Lee4   0120--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Bowdenc Tarbox b Root37     
H Storerc Higgins b Root76     
GM Leeb Tarbox1     
JM Hutchinsonlbw b Tarbox1     
LF Townsendc Price b Root27     
NM Fordrun out22     
TS Worthingtonc Fox b Root28     
AG Slaterb Root18     
*AW Richardsonc Gilbert b Price23     
+H Elliottc Gibbons b Root31     
TB Mitchellnot out0     
Extras(6 b, 13 lb, 3 nb)22
Total(all out, 110.2 overs)286
Fall of wickets:
1-111, 2-114, 3-118, 4-147, 5-147, 6-180, 7-203, 8-234, 9-266, 10-286 (110.2 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tarbox29   10732--
Price9   1221--
Gilbert10   4190--
Bowles8   0220--
Wright7   2210--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Wrightc Worthington b Lee15     
*JB Higginsc Elliott b Townsend33     
BW Quaifec Townsend b Lee7     
WV Foxlbw b Lee18     
HHIH Gibbonslbw b Lee12     
CF Rootc Storer b Townsend0     
JJ Bowlesb Townsend40     
CV Tarboxst Elliott b Lee37     
+FT Summersnot out13     
J Pricec Slater b Townsend0     
HA Gilbertb Worthington11     
Extras(10 b, 3 lb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 79.4 overs)200
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-53, 3-69, 4-86, 5-87, 6-91, 7-165, 8-183, 9-185, 10-200 (79.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Slater6   180--
Townsend32   15454--
Lee28   5995--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Bowdenb Root32     
H Storerb Root0     
GM Leec Summers b Root28     
NM Fordb Root10     
LF Townsendb Gilbert10     
TS Worthingtonc Root b Gilbert15     
JM Hutchinsonb Root10     
AG Slaternot out41     
*AW Richardsonrun out0     
+H Elliottnot out1     
TB Mitchelldid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)12
Total(8 wickets, 76 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-46, 3-65, 4-76, 5-90, 6-100, 7-139, 8-139
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Root38   15615--
Tarbox5   1230--
Gilbert27   10522--
Wright6   1110--

--> JB Higgins (1) passed 3000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 47
--> FT Summers (1) passed his previous highest score of 24 in County Championship matches
--> FT Summers (1) passed his previous highest score of 24 in First-Class matches
--> J Price (1) passed his previous highest score of 17 in First-Class matches
--> J Price (1) passed his previous highest score of 17 in County Championship matches
--> HA Gilbert (1) passed his previous highest score of 26 in County Championship matches
--> H Storer (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 2
--> TS Worthington (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 6
--> LF Townsend reached 250 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> GM Lee reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire second innings
--> CF Root reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 4th wicket in the Derbyshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive