Somerset v Kent
LV County Championship 2008 (Division 1)
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th July 2008 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to field
ResultSomerset won by 246 runs
PointsSomerset 22 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Kent 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3)
UmpiresSA Garratt, P Willey
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 13/3 (Tredwell 0*; 4.2 overs)
Close of play day 2Somerset (2) 129/5 (Langer 65*, Kieswetter 6*; 43 overs)
Close of play day 3Kent (2) 163/6 (Jones 21*, McLaren 12*; 56 overs)

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JL Langerc Jones b Joseph5057897- 
ME Trescothickc Kemp b Saggers58788482 
Z de Bruync Jones b Saggers81128161101 
JC Hildrethc Jones b Saggers410131- 
PD Tregoc Tredwell b Walker65708973 
ID Blackwellc Denly b Tredwell55729371 
+C Kieswetterc Key b Tredwell35544841 
BJ Phillipsc and b Joseph2233374- 
PS Jonesc Kemp b McLaren16362711 
AC Thomasc Kemp b McLaren269-- 
CM Willoughbynot out076-- 
Extras(2 lb, 36 nb, 1 w)39
Total(all out, 88.5 overs)427
Fall of wickets:
1-109 (Trescothick), 2-113 (Langer), 3-124 (Hildreth), 4-244 (Trego), 5-314 (de Bruyn), 6-381 (Blackwell), 7-389 (Kieswetter), 8-421 (Jones), 9-421 (Phillips), 10-427 (Thomas, 88.5 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Yasir Arafat4   0220--
Saggers18   484312
Joseph17   2962-12
Tredwell21   5942--
Walker8   1341--
van Jaarsveld4   2150--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Denlylbw b Willoughby041-- 
*RWT Keyc Kieswetter b Willoughby814171- 
MJ Saggersb Jones58121- 
JC Tredwelllbw b Thomas2361833- 
M van Jaarsveldc Kieswetter b Willoughby1522232- 
MJ Walkerlbw b Thomas2361741- 
JM Kempc Langer b Jones2562963- 
+GO Jonesc Kieswetter b Phillips2542535- 
Yasir Arafatc Phillips b Jones810122- 
R McLarenc Langer b Thomas3434466- 
RH Josephnot out2332364- 
Extras(8 b, 5 lb, 6 nb)19
Total(all out, 57.5 overs)208
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Denly), 2-13 (Saggers), 3-13 (Key), 4-41 (van Jaarsveld), 5-75 (Tredwell), 6-90 (Walker), 7-134 (Jones), 8-145 (Yasir Arafat), 9-158 (Kemp), 10-208 (McLaren, 57.5 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willoughby14   4303--
Jones15   2683-1
Blackwell5   1120--
Phillips10   2351--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JL Langerc Jones b McLaren8813023210- 
ME Trescothickrun out822271- 
Z de Bruync van Jaarsveld b Joseph175-- 
JC Hildrethc Tredwell b McLaren2960693- 
PD Tregoc Jones b Saggers1428382- 
ID Blackwellc and b Tredwell041-- 
+C Kieswetterb McLaren74142-- 
BJ Phillipsnot out538010761 
PS Jonesb Saggers1624333- 
AC Thomasnot out1943373- 
CM Willoughbydid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)8
Total(8 wickets, declared, 73 overs)243
Fall of wickets:
1-20 (Trescothick), 2-22 (de Bruyn), 3-71 (Hildreth), 4-102 (Trego), 5-103 (Blackwell), 6-135 (Kieswetter), 7-166 (Langer), 8-205 (Jones)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Joseph15   4471-1
McLaren20   25731-
Saggers18   26821-
Tredwell11   2281--
van Jaarsveld1   010--
Walker1   060--
Yasir Arafat7   3330--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Denlyb Jones3863875- 
JC Tredwellc Kieswetter b Jones411121- 
MJ Walkerlbw b Phillips2233414- 
M van Jaarsveldc Kieswetter b Thomas39588951 
JM Kemplbw b Blackwell1640472- 
+GO Jonesnot out5311819853 
Yasir Arafatc sub (NJ Edwards) b Willoughby921321- 
R McLarenc Kieswetter b Jones23581413- 
RH Josephb Jones011-- 
MJ Saggersc Hildreth b Jones4481- 
*RWT Keyabsent
Extras(7 b, 1 lb)8
Total(all out, 67.5 overs)216
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Tredwell), 2-54 (Walker), 3-74 (Denly), 4-114 (Kemp), 5-120 (van Jaarsveld), 6-145 (Yasir Arafat), 7-204 (McLaren), 8-204 (Joseph), 9-216 (Saggers, 67.5 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willoughby13   2391--
Blackwell19   2511--
Langer1   050--
Trego1   070--

--> JL Langer (1) passed 27000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 8
--> BJ Phillips (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 1
--> M van Jaarsveld (2) passed 13500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 2
--> GO Jones (2) passed 4000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 22
--> AC Thomas reached 250 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed JC Tredwell, his 1st wicket in the Kent first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive