Lancashire v Sussex
County Championship 1938
VenueWest Cliff, Preston on 1st, 2nd, 3rd June 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresJ Hardstaff, TW Oates
Close of play day 1Sussex (1) 25/0 (Langridge 14*, JH Parks 10*)
Close of play day 2No play

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Placec Stainton b JH Cornford6     
EW Greenhalghb JH Cornford11     
J Iddonc Tuppin b JH Cornford3     
N Oldfieldc Langridge b Hammond63     
JL Hopwoodb Tuppin2     
AE Nutterc JH Cornford b Hammond60     
*WHL Listerb Hammond1     
RG Garlickb Hammond0     
RH Parkinb JY Oakes2     
+G Duckworthnot out7     
LL Wilkinsonb JH Parks0     
Extras(11 b, 7 lb)18
Total(all out, 84.5 overs)173
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-19, 3-26, 4-34, 5-128, 6-130, 7-130, 8-135, 9-172, 10-173 (84.5 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
JH Cornford24   11373--
Hammond22   8334--
JH Parks24.55451--
Tuppin5   271--
Langridge3   0110--
JY Oakes6   0221--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Langridgerun out37     
JH Parkslbw b Iddon41     
G Cox hit wkt b Wilkinson4     
*RG Staintonc Greenhalgh b Wilkinson3     
HW Parksc Parkin b Iddon3     
C Oakesb Iddon4     
JY Oakesb Wilkinson1     
HE Hammondnot out15     
+WL Cornfordnot out10     
JH Cornforddid not bat      
AG Tuppindid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(7 wickets, 60 overs)120
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-75, 3-87, 4-87, 5-94, 6-95, 7-97
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Garlick5   380--
Nutter6   3100--
Parkin5   0240--
Iddon24   7393--
Wilkinson20   3373--

--> G Duckworth made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> AE Nutter (1) passed his previous highest score of 44 in County Championship matches
--> JH Cornford reached 450 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Lancashire first innings

There was only seven hours play in the match, with none on the second and only 135 minutes on the third day.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive