Leicestershire v Glamorgan
County Championship 1959
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 30th May, 1st, 2nd June 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 8 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 12; Glamorgan 0
UmpiresCS Elliott, WFF Price
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), E Truran (Glamorgan)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 30/0 (Hallam 16*, van Geloven 12*)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 106/1 (Parkhouse 44*, Pressdee 26*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WGA Parkhousec Smith b van Geloven17     
B Hedgesc Hallam b van Geloven53     
JS Pressdeec Spencer b van Geloven0     
LN Devereuxlbw b van Geloven38     
AJ Watkinsc Revill b Spencer132     
PM Walkerc Smith b Spencer12     
*W Woollerc Savage b Smith14     
DJ Wardc Watson b Boshier12     
JE McConnonb Boshier5     
+DGL Evansnot out12     
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
Extras(11 b, 16 lb)27
Total(9 wickets, declared, 89.4 overs)322
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-44, 3-95, 4-133, 5-166, 6-190, 7-247, 8-253, 9-322 (89.4 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boshier21   3532--
van Geloven24   3824--
Savage13   2450--
Smith7   2181--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamnot out210     
J van Gelovenc Pressdee b Watkins19     
EF Phillipslbw b Walker13     
AC Revilllbw b Wooller30     
*W Watsonb Walker19     
GW Burchc Hedges b Ward11     
+R Juliannot out19     
RC Smithdid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
JS Savagedid not bat      
BS Boshierdid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 2 w)4
Total(5 wickets, declared, 118 overs)325
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-102, 3-184, 4-215, 5-257
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walker30   11612--
Wooller32   7801--
Watkins14   2361--
Shepherd12   1360--
McConnon8   3330--
Pressdee2   070--
Ward10   0401--
Devereux10   2280--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WGA Parkhousec Julian b Boshier50     
B Hedgesc Phillips b Savage33     
JS Pressdeeb van Geloven38     
LN Devereuxc Burch b van Geloven56     
AJ Watkinsb van Geloven59     
PM Walkerb van Geloven0     
DJ Wardc Hallam b Boshier11     
*W Woollernot out9     
JE McConnonnot out11     
+DGL Evansdid not bat      
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
Extras(4 lb)4
Total(7 wickets, declared, 74 overs)271
Fall of wickets:
1-56, 2-112, 3-129, 4-215, 5-215, 6-244, 7-254
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer17   3530--
Boshier12   1322--
van Geloven14   2474--
Savage13   2671--
Smith18   4680--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Evans b Walker157     
J van Gelovenc Shepherd b Walker37     
*W Watsonnot out59     
AC Revillnot out15     
EF Phillipsdid not bat      
GW Burchdid not bat      
+R Juliandid not bat      
RC Smithdid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
JS Savagedid not bat      
BS Boshierdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb)3
Total(2 wickets, 49.3 overs)271
Fall of wickets:
1-158, 2-247
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walker12   0782--
Wooller16   1920--
Watkins7   0400--
Shepherd14   1530--

--> AJ Watkins (1) passed 18000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 72
--> MR Hallam (1) passed his previous highest score of 200 in First-Class matches
--> MR Hallam (1) passed his previous highest score of 200 in County Championship matches
--> MR Hallam (1) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 122
--> AJ Watkins (2) passed 14000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 16
--> J van Geloven reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive