Northamptonshire v Gloucestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 7th, 9th, 10th June 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGloucestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 6 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 19 (Batting 4, Bowling 3); Gloucestershire 7 (Batting 4, Bowling 3)
UmpiresWE Alley, TW Spencer
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 23/0 (Cook 8*, Larkins 10*)
Close of play day 2Gloucestershire (2) 36/0 (Sadiq Mohammad 18*, Broad 14*)

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Sadiq Mohammadb TM Lamb31     
BC Broadc Yardley b Sarfraz Nawaz28     
Zaheer Abbasc and b Sarfraz Nawaz79     
AW Stovoldb Sarfraz Nawaz6     
*AJ Hignellb Griffiths89     
P Bainbridgeb Sarfraz Nawaz71     
MD Partridgec AJ Lamb b Sarfraz Nawaz13     
DA Graveneynot out9     
AH Wilkinsdid not bat      
+AJ Brassingtondid not bat      
JH Childsdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 7 nb)16
Total(7 wickets, declared, 99 overs)342
Fall of wickets:
1-35, 2-82, 3-119, 4-162, 5-309, 6-329, 7-342 (99 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz25   6655--
Griffiths22   5771--
TM Lamb17   5541--
Williams27   5820--
Tindall6   0300--
Watts2   0180--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Cookb Wilkins19     
W Larkinsc Brassington b Childs49     
RG Williamslbw b Wilkins15     
AJ Lambc Wilkins b Broad12     
TJ Yardleynot out100     
RM Tindallb Bainbridge48     
+G Sharpc Hignell b Childs16     
*PJ Wattsb Childs4     
Sarfraz Nawaznot out22     
TM Lambdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(11 lb, 6 nb)17
Total(7 wickets, declared, 100 overs)302
Fall of wickets:
1-38, 2-60, 3-92, 4-115, 5-219, 6-257, 7-263
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilkins22   7612--
Partridge13   4380--
Graveney18   5500--
Bainbridge13   2361--
Broad5   1181--
Childs23   6593--
Sadiq Mohammad6   0230--

Gloucestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Sadiq Mohammadc Watts b Williams32     
BC Broadc AJ Lamb b Sarfraz Nawaz18     
Zaheer Abbasc Sharp b TM Lamb75     
AW Stovoldc Cook b Williams0     
*AJ Hignellc Sharp b TM Lamb30     
P Bainbridgec Yardley b Williams0     
MD Partridgec Yardley b Williams0     
DA Graveneyc Cook b Williams0     
AH Wilkinsrun out15     
+AJ Brassingtonc Sharp b Williams1     
JH Childsnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 8 nb)11
Total(all out, 72.5 overs)182
Fall of wickets:
1-46, 2-64, 3-64, 4-140, 5-146, 6-146, 7-146, 8-181, 9-182, 10-182 (72.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz19   6461--
Griffiths10   4170--
TM Lamb9   5142--
Tindall5   0290--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Cookc and b Graveney11     
W Larkinsc Wilkins b Zaheer Abbas127     
RG Williamsc and b Childs37     
AJ Lambc Partridge b Childs36     
TJ Yardleynot out1     
RM Tindallnot out10     
+G Sharpdid not bat      
*PJ Wattsdid not bat      
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
TM Lambdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(4 wickets, 57.1 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-63, 2-136, 3-201, 4-212
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilkins4   0140--
Partridge6   2170--
Graveney11   1371--
Bainbridge5   1180--
Broad2   0250--
Sadiq Mohammad4   1230--
Zaheer Abbas7   3171--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> DA Graveney (1) passed 3000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 6
--> RM Tindall (1) passed his previous highest score of 25 in County Championship matches
--> W Larkins (2) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 48
--> TM Lamb reached 150 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Gloucestershire second innings
--> RG Williams achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Gloucestershire second innings (previous best was 5-57)
--> RG Williams completed a hat-trick in the Gloucestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive