Leicestershire v Surrey
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 18th, 19th, 20th June 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 3 (Batting 2, Bowling 1); Surrey 8 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresTW Spencer, AGT Whitehead
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 58/1 (Steele 22*, Balderstone 23*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (2) 102/4 (Smith 21*, Roope 14*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherlbw b Taylor6     
GS Clintonc Davison b Steele31     
DB Paulineb Cook46     
*RDV Knightc Birkenshaw b Cook9     
DM Smithnot out104     
GRJ Roopenot out87     
Intikhab Alamdid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
ST Clarkedid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
Extras(15 lb, 5 nb)20
Total(4 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)303
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-65, 3-96, 4-119
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Taylor21   5701--
Clift22   8530--
Shuttleworth12   2330--
Steele15   6411--
Cook22   7662--
Birkenshaw8   2200--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonb Clarke3     
JF Steelec Smith b Jackman62     
JC Balderstonelbw b Jackman28     
DI Gowerlbw b Intikhab Alam43     
*BF Davisonc Pocock b Jackman2     
+RW Tolchardc Richards b Clarke12     
J Birkenshawc Richards b Jackman42     
PB Cliftc Clarke b Intikhab Alam7     
K Shuttleworthb Intikhab Alam0     
NGB Cookb Pocock5     
LB Taylornot out4     
Extras(2 b, 13 lb, 2 nb)17
Total(all out, 86.4 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-78, 3-121, 4-125, 5-163, 6-177, 7-214, 8-214, 9-214, 10-225 (86.4 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clarke22   3502--
Jackman24   9504--
Intikhab Alam24   9583--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherlbw b Shuttleworth20     
GS Clintonc Shuttleworth b Clift0     
DB Paulinec Clift b Cook27     
*RDV Knightb Cook20     
DM Smithb Cook21     
GRJ Roopenot out56     
Intikhab Alamc Clift b Cook36     
RD Jackmannot out23     
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
ST Clarkedid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(6 wickets, declared, 74 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-36, 3-65, 4-78, 5-104, 6-172
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Taylor9   4160--
Clift12   2321--
Shuttleworth21   4571--
Cook32   8984--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Richards b Jackman1     
JF Steelec and b Jackman4     
JC Balderstonenot out65     
DI Gowerlbw b Jackman23     
*BF Davisonlbw b Jackman5     
+RW Tolchardnot out45     
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
PB Cliftdid not bat      
K Shuttleworthdid not bat      
NGB Cookdid not bat      
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 8 nb)12
Total(4 wickets, 49 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-13, 3-49, 4-66
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clarke14   3370--
Jackman17   5414--
Pocock8   0310--
Intikhab Alam8   1340--
Smith2   200--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> DB Pauline (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in First-Class matches
--> DB Pauline (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in County Championship matches
--> JF Steele (1) passed 11500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 32
--> DI Gower (1) passed 4500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 34
--> J Birkenshaw (1) passed 12500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 4
--> DM Smith (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 6
--> GRJ Roope (2) passed 17000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 37
--> LB Taylor reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Surrey first innings
--> Intikhab Alam reached 500 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> RD Jackman reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 4th wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive