Surrey v Gloucestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueWoodbridge Road, Guildford on 28th, 30th June, 1st July 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey 4 (Bowling 4); Gloucestershire 2 (Batting 1, Bowling 1)
UmpiresDJ Constant, R Palmer
Close of play day 1Gloucestershire (1) 93/5 (Hignell 7*, Bainbridge 4*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (1) 80/3 (Butcher 49*, Smith 1*)

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BC Broadrun out6     
Sadiq Mohammadc Richards b Jackman4     
Zaheer Abbasc Cheatle b Knight40     
AW Stovoldc Cheatle b Jackman4     
*MJ Procterlbw b Cheatle16     
AJ Hignelllbw b Jackman10     
P Bainbridgeb Clarke32     
AH Wilkinsnot out20     
+AJ Brassingtonb Clarke2     
BM Brainb Jackman0     
JH Childsb Jackman0     
Extras(12 b, 7 lb, 4 w)23
Total(all out, 69.5 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-16, 3-20, 4-79, 5-79, 6-98, 7-148, 8-152, 9-157, 10-157 (69.5 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clarke23   6552--
Knight9   691--
Cheatle6   1181--
Pocock6   1110--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butchernot out49     
GS Clintonlbw b Procter11     
GP Howarthlbw b Procter0     
*RDV Knightc Broad b Wilkins10     
DM Smithnot out1     
GRJ Roopedid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
ST Clarkedid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
RGL Cheatledid not bat      
Extras(6 lb, 3 nb)9
Total(3 wickets, 26.1 overs)80
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-47, 3-78
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brain5   0230--
Procter13   4302--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Zaheer Abbas (1) passed 24000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 22
--> RD Jackman reached 950 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Gloucestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive