Lancashire v Worcestershire
County Championship 1903
VenueAigburth, Liverpool on 22nd, 23rd, 24th June 1903 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresG Porter, CE Richardson
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 153/4 (Foster 58*, Gaukrodger 60*)
Close of play day 2Lancashire (2) 346/3 (Tyldesley 202*, Hornby 62*)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HG Garnettc Caldwell b Simpson-Hayward18     
RH Spoonerb Simpson-Hayward5     
JT Tyldesleyc Burrows b Arnold41     
*AC MacLarenb Wilson101     
AH Hornbyb Simpson-Hayward8     
EE Steelc Burrows b Arnold15     
JS Sharpc Foster b Arnold1     
SF Barnesrun out13     
W Brearleyb Wilson7     
GH Littlewoodnot out5     
+L Radcliffeb Arnold6     
Extras(3 b, 9 lb, 6 w)18
Total(all out, 58.2 overs)238
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-35, 3-89, 4-113, 5-136, 6-138, 7-195, 8-214, 9-229, 10-238 (58.2 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Simpson-Hayward14   1643--
Wilson19   18523-
Burrows4   0140--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FL Bowleyb Littlewood6     
FA Pearsonc MacLaren b Barnes2     
GF Wheldonc Radcliffe b Barnes8     
EG Arnoldb Littlewood8     
*HK Fosterlbw b Littlewood84     
+G Gaukrodgerb Littlewood91     
WS Caldwellc Radcliffe b Barnes1     
GHT Simpson-Haywardc MacLaren b Barnes4     
A Birdnot out6     
GA Wilsonc Garnett b Littlewood5     
RD Burrowsc Spooner b Barnes18     
Extras(8 b, 3 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 90.5 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-8, 3-26, 4-32, 5-199, 6-208, 7-216, 8-216, 9-226, 10-245 (90.5 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Littlewood33   21015--
Brearley21   65001-
Steel7   1250--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HG Garnettc Gaukrodger b Arnold24     
RH Spoonerb Wilson23     
JT Tyldesleyc and b Burrows248     
*AC MacLarenc Simpson-Hayward b Bird29     
AH Hornbyb Wilson74     
EE Steelb Wilson0     
JS Sharpnot out24     
W Brearleyb Arnold14     
SF Barnesdid not bat      
GH Littlewooddid not bat      
+L Radcliffedid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 3 w)13
Total(7 wickets, declared, 99 overs)449
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-54, 3-134, 4-376, 5-376, 6-434, 7-449 (99 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilson24   01043--
Simpson-Hayward10   1620--
Arnold26   211823-
Bird22   3591--
Burrows17   1931--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HK Fosterc Littlewood b Brearley45     
FL Bowleyb Brearley17     
EG Arnoldnot out10     
GF Wheldonnot out0     
FA Pearsondid not bat      
+G Gaukrodgerdid not bat      
WS Caldwelldid not bat      
GHT Simpson-Haywarddid not bat      
A Birddid not bat      
GA Wilsondid not bat      
RD Burrowsdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 3 nb)8
Total(2 wickets, 50 overs)80
Fall of wickets:
1-49, 2-76
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Littlewood19   11200--
Barnes12   8110-3
Steel7   3150--
Brearley12   5262--

--> G Gaukrodger (1) passed his previous highest score of 76 in County Championship matches
--> G Gaukrodger (1) passed his previous highest score of 76 in First-Class matches
--> G Gaukrodger (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 66
--> JT Tyldesley (2) passed 11000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 19
--> JT Tyldesley (2) passed 14000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 236
--> AH Hornby (2) passed his previous highest score of 71 in County Championship matches
--> AH Hornby (2) passed his previous highest score of 73 in First-Class matches
--> SF Barnes reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> SF Barnes reached 200 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> SF Barnes reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings

MacLaren's 101 lasted 145 minutes and included 12 fours. Tyldesley's 248 took 235 minutes and included 36 fours





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive