Surrey v Sussex
Frizzell County Championship 2003 (Division 1)
VenueThe AMP Oval, Kennington on 30th, 31st May, 1st, 2nd June 2003 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 113 runs
PointsSurrey 22 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Sussex 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3)
UmpiresAA Jones, R Palmer
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 401/8 (Salisbury 10*, Saqlain Mushtaq 2*; 104 overs)
Close of play day 2Surrey (2) 22/0 (Ward 16*, Batty 6*; 10 overs)
Close of play day 3Sussex (2) 12/0 (Goodwin 10*, Montgomerie 0*; 3.5 overs)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IJ Wardc Ambrose b Kirtley929351- 
+JN Battyc Adams b Taylor1225422- 
MR Ramprakashc Yardy b Mushtaq Ahmed371061477- 
GP Thorpec Adams b Mushtaq Ahmed15627532526- 
AD Brownc Goodwin b Kirtley7469100101 
*AJ Hollioakelbw b Martin-Jenkins7778118111 
Azhar Mahmoodc Adams b Kirtley044-- 
MP Bicknellb Martin-Jenkins1118192- 
IDK Salisburyc Ambrose b Mushtaq Ahmed45558452 
Saqlain Mushtaqc Montgomerie b Martin-Jenkins32617031 
J Ormondnot out114-- 
Extras(4 b, 17 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)26
Total(all out, 119.5 overs)480
Fall of wickets:
1-22 (Ward), 2-22 (Batty), 3-132 (Ramprakash), 4-263 (Brown), 5-359 (Thorpe), 6-360 (Azhar Mahmood), 7-379 (Bicknell), 8-394 (Hollioake), 9-469 (Saqlain Mushtaq), 10-480 (Salisbury)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kirtley33   51223-2
Innes12   4590--
Mushtaq Ahmed36.511593--
Yardy7   1180--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RR Montgomeriec Ward b Ormond5761- 
MW Goodwinb Saqlain Mushtaq606610014- 
MH Yardyc Thorpe b Ormond067-- 
*CJ Adamsc Batty b Azhar Mahmood518211- 
TR Ambrosec Ramprakash b Ormond751522289- 
RSC Martin-Jenkinslbw b Azhar Mahmood61687410- 
+MJ Priorb Saqlain Mushtaq63239-- 
KJ Innesb Salisbury2157-- 
Mushtaq Ahmedlbw b Ormond4143465- 
RJ Kirtleyrun out2127284- 
BV Taylornot out41421-- 
Extras(9 lb, 16 nb, 2 w)27
Total(all out, 73.1 overs)307
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Montgomerie), 2-13 (Yardy), 3-24 (Adams), 4-98 (Goodwin), 5-189 (Martin-Jenkins), 6-217 (Prior), 7-220 (Innes), 8-279 (Ambrose), 9-282 (Mushtaq Ahmed), 10-307 (Kirtley)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bicknell3   190--
Azhar Mahmood16   1572--
Salisbury14   1671-3
Saqlain Mushtaq21   4682--
Hollioake4   01601-

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IJ Wardc Goodwin b Innes135166260181 
+JN Battyb Mushtaq Ahmed5611015081 
MR Ramprakashc Prior b Innes2350473- 
GP Thorpenot out1825693- 
AD Brownnot out198-- 
*AJ Hollioakedid not bat      
Azhar Mahmooddid not bat      
MP Bicknelldid not bat      
IDK Salisburydid not bat      
Saqlain Mushtaqdid not bat      
J Ormonddid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, declared, 60 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-137 (Batty), 2-192 (Ramprakash), 3-219 (Ward)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kirtley14   3490--
Martin-Jenkins19   3660--
Mushtaq Ahmed11   1471--
Innes14   1642--
Yardy2   070--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MW Goodwinb Azhar Mahmood2633525- 
RR Montgomeriec sub (N Shahid) b Saqlain Mushtaq31671104- 
MH Yardyc Azhar Mahmood b Ormond692413177- 
*CJ Adamsb Saqlain Mushtaq096-- 
TR Ambroseb Saqlain Mushtaq183-- 
RSC Martin-Jenkinsb Azhar Mahmood889310114- 
+MJ Priorc Ramprakash b Azhar Mahmood1420311- 
KJ Innesc Azhar Mahmood b Saqlain Mushtaq12020-- 
RJ Kirtleyc sub (N Shahid) b Salisbury733331- 
Mushtaq Ahmedlbw b Saqlain Mushtaq3652447- 
BV Taylornot out013-- 
Extras(9 b, 3 lb, 6 nb, 2 w)20
Total(all out, 95.4 overs)293
Fall of wickets:
1-45 (Goodwin), 2-83 (Montgomerie), 3-83 (Adams), 4-85 (Ambrose), 5-198 (Martin-Jenkins), 6-218 (Prior), 7-221 (Innes), 8-242 (Kirtley), 9-293 (Mushtaq Ahmed), 10-293 (Yardy)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Azhar Mahmood21   4763-2
Salisbury21   5671-1
Saqlain Mushtaq34   15735--

--> GP Thorpe (1) 100 in 156 balls, 205 minutes with 18 fours
--> MW Goodwin (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 57
--> IJ Ward (2) 100 in 137 balls, 180 minutes with 15 fours
--> Mushtaq Ahmed (2) passed 3500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 29





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive