Badrinath skipper for India Emerging Players
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:A Mishra, M Vijay, V Kohli, S Badrinath

DateLine: 16th July 2009


Tamil Nadu's S. Badrinath will lead the Indian team in the Emerging Players Tournament to be played in Australia from July 20. Virat Kohli has been selected as the vice-captain of the 16-man squad.


The other squad members who have had international exposure include legspinner Amit Mishra, opener M Vijay, allrounder Abhishek Nayar and Bengal batsman Manoj Tiwary.


The tournament, which runs from July 20 to August 1, will be played across different venues in Brisbane. The other teams are the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) and the emerging players from South Africa and New Zealand.


This is the fifth edition of the tournament, and India which finished a lowly third last time would surely like to improve. New Zealand are the defending champions, having beaten AIS by three wickets in the final last year.


The Indian team is leaving for Brisbane on 17th of July from Mumbai.


India Emerging Players squad: S Badrinath (capt), Virat Kohli (vice-capt), M Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary, Ishank Jaggi, Abhishek Nayar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, Pankaj Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pradeep Sangwan, Sudeep Tyagi